

Yorkshire Classic MCC



Round 5 of the Northern British Bike Championship

THE WEST RIDING TRIAL

14th July 2019

Report by Steve Rayner

Lee Leads the Way

The sun shone to welcome the riders for the start of the Yorkshire Classic's West Riding road Trial at the Guide Inn, Cullingworth.

A 30 mile lap of 30 sections had been prepared by new Clerks of Course Gary Marshall and Graham Wilkinson aided by Colin and Tim Pawson with the dry conditions enabling some low scores.

Top Premier route rider on the day was Michael Lee on his BSA C15 losing only 4 marks, just 1 ahead of Jim Hough (Ariel) and Eric McMeekin (Bantam). It could have been so much different as both John Maxfield (Bantam) and Ian Myers (Cub) could have taken the crown but for unfortunate maximums.

On the Clubman route Ossy Byers on his DOT took top honours from Paul Cook (Francis Barnett) on Yorkshire Classic's oldest rider tiebreak rule as both went unpenalised. Carl Winstanley on his immaculate Ariel took his only dab on the relatively easy section 28 at Lord Lane to finish joint second with a resurgent Keith Hobson on his ex-Dave Thorpe Cub and Bantam mounted Gary Carter.

Lusky's

The opening group is always a tester with five sections this year designed to make life difficult. The first two although slippery did not take many marks although Veteran Clubman Geoff Walker was unlucky to lose his entire total of 3 on the first easy section. The clubmen could avoid the large rocks but only a select few were able to leave still on zero.

Sections 3 and 5 were the mark takers. Three rocks in the purpose built 3rd were set to catch the riders being set at wheelbase distance apart. Chris Gascoigne (Francis Barnett) and Andy Scott (Bantam) were early casualties here. Only Hough, Lee and Myers left Lusky's penalty free on the hard route.

The first at Lord Lane on the edge of the Bronte town of Haworth caused the experts more trouble than any other section. The combination of steep drops and cambers took marks from all but Myers.

The long ride out to Lumb Waterfall followed but the riders were not disappointed with the natural stream sections here. The drop into the rock strewn 2nd here took 3 of winner Lee's 4 marks and all but McMeekin, Maxfield, Myers and Dorricott (Armac Cub) lost marks.

The clubmen were spared from most of the rocks at this and the next group at Cowling Beck.

Tiger's Slippery Ford

The stream crossing at Sliippery Ford was always observed by the late 'Tiger' Payne and is a favourite on the return to base. It was the biggest mark taker on the Clubman route taking five out of his six from top rigid exponent Andy Webbe on an AJS for a change. Didcot's Graham Howes on his beautiful but heavy rigid BSA Gold Star showed how it should be done cleaning the hazard for the first time in several years keeping his total down to a very creditable 7.

The sun shone on their way back to Lord Lane with just Jack's garage standing between the riders and the liquid refreshment at The Guide Inn after an excellent day's sport in scenic Bronte Country.

The riders can now look forward to the next NBBC round to be held on the 11th August around the beautiful town of Llangollen, North Wales.

Series sponsored by



SPONSORS Dirtbike









www.rockshocks.co.uk











Results

Clubman Route

Class 1 - Pre-Unit Rigid

Andy Webbe (AJS) 6, Graham Howes (BSA) 7, John Feather (Ariel) 9, Gary Marshall (Tri-TRW) 13.

Class 2- Pre-Unit Springers

Carl Winstanley (Ariel) 1, Tony Davidson (AJS) 3, Peter Baldwin (Ariel) 8, Colin Benson (Ariel) 12.

Class 3 – Vintage Two Strokes

Richard Plume (Norman) 8, Kev Whitting (James) 33.

Class 4– Open Clubman

Ossy Byers (DOT) 0, Paul Cook (Francis Barnett) 0, Keith Hobson (Cub) 1, Gary Carter (Bantam) 1, Neil Walker (Francis Barnett) 3, Geoff Walker (Bantam) 3, Mick Whitlow (Cub) 3 John Palmer (DOT) 3.

Premier route

Class 5 - Pre-Unit Springers

Jim Hough (Ariel) 5, Darren Cooper (Ariel) 12.

Class 6 – Unit Construction

Michael Lee (C15 BSA) 4, Andrew Black (C15 BSA) 12, Dave Wilkinson (Cub) 18, Robin Luscombe (Cub) 20, Darren Walker (C15 BSA) 26.

Class 7 – Two strokes pre 1970

Eric McMeekin (Bantam) 5, John Maxfield (Bantam) 8, Chris Gascoigne (F/Barnet) 12, Neil Buckley (Bantam) 20. Andy Scott (Bantam) 21.

Class 8 – Specials

lan Myers (Cub) 7, Dave Dench (Cub) 24, Dave Ingram (BSA C15) 32.